Skip to content

Status Update: The Power of Motivation

July 24, 2011

It took four hours this morning but I finally finished this story.  It wound up at 98,000 words, so just a shade under 100,000.  That’s the longest thing of the year which is a far cry from last year when I was routinely passing 100K.

Anyway, this was the most fun I’ve had with a story all year and perhaps for about a year.  That’s probably why I was motivated to finish it faster than anything else this year.  I think it goes back to the entry I wrote on motivation.  I was motivated to write it because I really liked this story but figured no one was probably ever going to read that far in the series.  I didn’t want it to go to waste, so I figured out how to make the core story a stand-alone story.  It’s largely the same, but with some differences; it doesn’t get all weird like the other one.  Anyway, because I really wanted to do it and really liked the story it made it much easier to work on.

And now onwards to something else.  On a side note, even though it’s summer I don’t think I wrote any of this outside.  It’s been 85+ pretty much this entire month, so there hasn’t been a lot of good weather for sitting around outside with a netbook.  Maybe we’ll finally get a break on that.

That is all.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Well, I’ve never written a story longer than 70,000 words, so you’ve gotten me beat by a ton. I hope you celebrate somehow for finishing a draft. It’s a real accomplishment.

    • Does eating a rotisserie chicken and drinking peach/passion fruit sparkling juice while watching “Cedar Rapids” count as a celebration? Otherwise I got nothing.

Leave a comment