Skip to content

Novel Films

August 2, 2011

I read on Lisa Potts’s blog about some blogfest where people list books they’ve seen the movies of or movies they’ve read the books of.  Whatever.  Anyway, I got to trying to think of my list.  Thanks to Goodreads for reminding me of some I forgot:

  1. Eaters of the Dead/13th Warrior
  2. Cider House Rules
  3. World According to Garp
  4. Hotel New Hampshire
  5. Prayer for Owen Meany/Simon Birch
  6. A Widow for One Year/The Door in the Floor
  7. Nobody’s Fool
  8. Wonder Boys
  9. The Mysteries of Pittsburgh
  10. American Psycho
  11. Atonement
  12. Less Than Zero
  13. The Time Traveler’s Wife
  14. The Dive From Clausen’s Pier (it aired as a TV movie on Lifetime)
  15. The Colour of Magic (the TV miniseries actually covers the first two Discworld books)
  16. Hogfather
  17. Jurassic Park
  18. Jurassic Park:  The Lost World
  19. Sphere
  20. Lord of the Rings
  21. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (that was the only Narnia one I read)
  22. The DaVinci Code
  23. How the Grinch Stole Christmas
  24. Farewell, My Lovely/Murder, My Sweet
  25. The Maltese Falcon
  26. To Kill a Mockingbird
  27. A Raisin in the Sun
  28. Dracula
  29. Possession
  30. The Kite Runner
  31. The Hours
  32. Watchmen (graphic novels count, don’t they?)
  33. Bonfire of the Vanities
  34. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  35. A Clockwork Orange
  36. The Accidental Tourist
  37. Cold Mountain
  38. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
  39. House of Sand and Fog
  40. Alice in Wonderland
  41. The Virgin Suicides
  42. Huckleberry Finn
  43. A Scanner Darkly
  44. The Shipping News
  45. The Godfather
  46. Feast of Love
  47. The Grapes of Wrath
  48. The Wizard of Oz
  49. A Streetcar Named Desire
  50. Fight Club
  51. Get Shorty

There are probably a lot more I can’t remember right now.  I wonder if I could count comics like Batman, Superman, and Captain America where I read some of the first issues and seen the movies?

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Yes, comic books count according the the official blogfest rules!

    That’s quite an impressive list, RM. I’ve seen a lot of the movies but haven’t read too many of the books. That seems to be what I’ve run into on everyone’s lists. Guess I need to read more.

  2. Wow… That’s a huge list. I think I’m gonna sign-up for this since it runs through to tomorrow.

    • Admittedly a couple like Dracula and Alice in Wonderland weren’t very faithful to the source material. (And actually I haven’t finished Dracula yet, but I should tonight.)

  3. Mutt, are you gonna do Rachael Harrie’s campaign again in a couple weeks? I know I am.

    • I dunno. I was probably at least going to look at the list and see if there are more interesting blogs to follow.

  4. Man, you read/watch movies a lot.

    I laughed when I saw “The Grinch” in there.

  5. I have no idea about what I’ve read and seen. I think I’d have a disappointingly short list. After The Clan of the Cavebear I thought I never want to see another adaptation again. I’ve since gotten more lenient on that count, but I still don’t trust them.

  6. You have quite a bit there. Very well read you are. This is the 2nd list I’ve seen Fight Club on. I never realized it’s also a book. I love that movie. Edward Norton is one of my fave actors. Wondering how he held up as the story’s MC.

Leave a Reply

