Skip to content

Cover Me!

July 28, 2011

When I made the cover for The Carnival Papers (Available NOW in paperback!) I bought like 20 credits or so from iStockPhoto to use.  Since I only used 12 or so, I got an Email the other day saying I had 8 left that expire in September.  That got me thinking that if I can’t find a publisher or anything for A Hero’s Journey, maybe I should find something to use for a cover before these credits run out.  If I don’t need the cover later then I’m not really out anything.

I did a bunch of searches.  First since my character wears magical armor and carries a sword I looked for armor and swords.  Then I figured that if I went with a helmet or a sword people would think it was a fantasy book.  So I tried looking up superhero stuff.  A lot of them were really expensive, but here are a couple that might work.

I recolored the hair myself in my old Paint Shop Pro.  I’d have to redo the coloring and fonts and stuff with the real picture, but this gives you a rough idea.

Here’s another one:

I had to do a little more recoloring with this one.  She doesn’t actually wear a mask like this, but I think it gives a better idea of what to expect than an actual helmet like it’s supposed to be.

Neither one is really great, but which one is better?

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. I like the first one…seems more mysterious. 🙂

  2. As a photo I like the first one better. But it makes me think more of an S&M sorta story. The second one might be better for a book cover about a heroine.

    • Hmmm, I hadn’t thought about that with the first one. Maybe if I lightened some of the black in it it’d be better?

  3. I like the first one. Let me know if you need help with the recoloring since I’m better with Photoshop!

  4. I like the first one.

  5. I would choose the first one also, but agree it’s a bit dark for a book cover.

  6. I LOVE the first one :0)

  7. I decided to go ahead and buy the first one. I had enough credits left to buy a second image I thought could work for a different story.

Leave a Reply

