Skip to content

Rogue Mutt Classics: What Do Writers Blog About?

July 6, 2011

In case you never bothered to read it, here’s the very first entry of the blog, wherein I wonder just what the hell I should blog about.  For better or worse I figured it out eventually.

#

I’ve heard it said before that these days a writer should have a blog to in theory drum up an audience for them and their books.  I’ve thought about having a blog for five years or so, but one thing always holds me back:  What the hell would I talk about?

Ideally when you start a blog you write it 5-7 days a week.  The problem is finding 5-7 things a week you actually want to talk about and then finding time to write it.  I used to read a blog by this one guy in St. Louis who tried to do that.  He ran into the problem of not being able to keep up with it because when you’ve got a wife, kids, a real job, and your real writing there’s just not much time left over to come up with blog entries.  So eventually it just all fell by the wayside.

Besides just the time, there is as I mentioned the topics.  What the heck would I talk about?  I’m not JK Rowling or Stephen King or Neil Gaiman; I can’t provide you with any insight into the publishing universe.  I don’t even feel confident enough in terms of grammar or any of that to usually offer suggestions to people.  Mostly at this point I’ve just mellowed on that to the point of “I do it the way I want for me, but you can do it however you want and I don’t really care.”  Because let’s face it, a lot of crap gets published so me coming up with and quoting a bunch of “rules” is just pointless.

So I don’t know, maybe some of y’all follow writer blogs and have some better insight into what they actually talk about.  Maybe if I can figure out what non-famous writers say that interests people I’d start a blog too.

That is all.

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. There is remarkable similarity between your inner dialogue and that of Frost Devereaux. 🙂

    • Well duh. My writing “voice” is just about the same in all formats.

      • Mmm…it’s more than that though and you could easily have written in another way. When I read this, I thought that Frost actually wrote it. Then I realized it was you lol.

      • I pretty much just write one way. Sometimes with more swearing, though. If I’m really on my druthers I might work some vocabulary words in. But mostly I just have one voice, which is why I’m not a great writer.

  2. You write about life, of course! It is the stuff of good fiction, after all. 🙂

  3. So you’ve found stuff to write about all these years. Well, all these year, anyway.

    Did you really start the blog just to have a blog? I went and looked at your other entry from that first day, and found that interesting, too — did you follow up on the script /graphic novel idea? @rossbigley on Twitter is a friend of mine who’s drawn comics and is a great artist. You may want to follow/drop him a line and see if he can be of help or is interested. He and I briefly collaborated on a movie script before that dropped by the wayside.

    I think of your niche as being the “not-yet-famous” writer; you’ll catch on at some point and then I’ll be able to say “That guy used to comment on my blog,” before adding “Now, he’s got a restraining order against me.”

    • Well the title sums the blog up: Everyone else has one, so why can’t I?

      I have the graphic novel script sitting around, but haven’t done a lot with it. The problem is that I can’t pay anyone to draw it or anything, so I’d need someone to put in a lot of work on spec for something unlikely to be published, which doesn’t seem all that likely. Really writing the script is probably the easiest part of the process. All that drawing and shading and inking and stuff probably takes much, much longer.

      And they’ve got a whole system designed to make sure people like me never get famous. I believe like George in “Seinfeld” when he was working on Jerry’s pilot that if I did ever do anything that got famous I’d probably die of a heart attack or something right at that moment.

      Really while I like the idea of fame, I really couldn’t go on talk shows or sit around at book signings or hold readings for hundreds of people. I’d need a stunt double for that. Which is why sometimes I think I need to craft a bio casting me as a recluse, like Salinger or somebody. Then people would think I’m deep too, like all those gurus living on mountaintops.

  4. Also, I’m going to steal your’s and Jonathan Coulton’s idea for my Tumblr thing if I ever get around to it; I like the idea of going back and looking at my old blog posts from five years ago and revisiting them.

    So that’s paragraph 1 for your affidavit in support of a restraining order.

    • You already Tweet links to some of your old posts, so maybe I stole the idea from you! And also TV.

  5. It is tough to continually generate new material. Not posting every day makes things easier, I think. Also, finding inspiration about what’s out there he helpful. You don’t have to post about what everbody else is posting about, but you may develop an idea sparked by something you see.

  6. Not like this is a blog or anything…..

    ❤ Gina Blechman

Leave a Reply

