Skip to content

Status Update: Mail Call

June 26, 2011

I’m on pace with my summer writing goals so far.  I said I’d finish this story by the end of June and I just barely did it.  Woo hoo!  It came in at just under 60,000 words, which would be short for an adult novel but this is a kids story, so I figure that’s all right.

Anyway, the story isn’t very good.  I kind of lost my faith in the story somewhere about halfway in.  When you’re writing a novel you really need to be committed to it.  Otherwise it’s going to suffer, as this surely did, especially around the end where I just started to mail it in.

So there you go.

Tomorrow is an all-new blog entry!  Hooray!

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Hmmm…any particular reason why you lost your steam with the story about halfway through?

  2. Well done finishing that first story!! I know how it is to lose steam with certain stories though… 😛

  3. Maybe you just need to go back to the halfway point during revisions and focus on re-working the end.

    I had a June deadline for finishing my WIP and, unless I can bump out the final 18K in the next 4 days (not likely) I won’t make it. So, I’ve given myself an extension until the end of the first week in July. It might be cheating, but it’s my schedule and I’m allowed!

Leave a Reply

