Skip to content

Monday Musings: Second Summer in the City Blogfest!

June 6, 2011

Alert the media, I’m doing a Blogfest!  Well, if you write a blog I like and decide to create a blogfest–especially one that doesn’t ask a bunch of dopey questions about me or ask me to write some equally dopey piece of flash fiction–then maybe I’ll do it too.

So anyway, according to Bess Weatherby’s blog, you’re supposed to describe your goals for the summer and what you’re working on right now.  Which is easy for me because a month or so ago I probably already did most of that.

Here we go then:

1.  What does my current WIP look like? 

As of when I’m writing this I’ve gotten through 9 chapters of A New Beginning, Chronicles of Batpooh State Volume 1.   (It really needs a better title!)  You can read them by going here.  I don’t imagine this story will be overly long because unless you’re JK Rowling kids books aren’t supposed to be 170,000 words.  So I should have that done before the end of June.

2.  What are my goals for the rest of the summer?

I have a few ideas on the plate, though none are fully developed yet.  By the time I get closer to done with the Batpooh State story I will hopefully rough one of these out.

But anyway, here are the rough ideas:

  1. Untitled Scarlet Knight reboot:  The sixth one of the series was my favorite, so I got to thinking about how I could do it as a standalone piece.  Basically eliminate the first six chapters and the last three or so plus the Epilogue.  The gist of the story is that a nearly 50-year-old Dr. Emma Earl has been the Scarlet Knight for a while, unbeknownst to her daughter Louise.  Then one of Emma’s old foes returns (probably due to Louise digging up an artifact in the desert) and she’s crippled.  Louise takes her place and in doing so heals the rift with her mother and learns the identity of her father.  I might change the names to differentiate it from the other stories, but that’s the gist of it.
  2. Birth of Magic Part II, Necropolis:  When I left off the first part, our witch hero Sylvia Joubert had found out her friend Cecelia was actually her long lost, thought-to-be-dead-a-century-ago daughter and a Nazi agent.  In the second part, Sylvia and Cecelia join forces to rescue a couple of their friends from a Nazi scientist.  Meanwhile, Sylvia’s sister Agnes discovers some shocking truths about their family.
  3. Birth of Magic Part III, Rebirth:  Dark magic brought Sylvia’s true love Henri back to life, but the only way to keep him alive is to find the “birthplace of magic” from witch Sylvia and other witches gained their power.  But to find and access it, she has to race against time to find a few magic runes.  At the same time her daughter Cecelia and sister Agnes are on her trail, hoping to stop her before she gives the evil Nazis the key to ruling the world.
  4. Rewriting Birth of Magic Part I:  After writing the second and third parts I need to go back and make changes to the first part.  If it’s like the Scarlet Knight stories I’ll need to apply some reverse continuity to work in any better ideas I had along the way.  Plus there were some things I wanted to change in the first part, especially in the first few chapters.
  5. And there’s always my Cyberbullying screenplay!  Or maybe write it as a novel first.  Yeah, right.

So there you go, my goals for the summer.  Huzzah!  Other goals would be to learn to roller skate without breaking my ass and if not losing weight then at least not gaining much.

Now that I’ve talked about goals, Wednesday I’m going to talk about the motivation needed to achieve them…

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Sounds like you’re gonna be busy!

  2. Well, if you were busier last year, I don’t know how. Great goals! You should definitely learn to roller skate 🙂 I don’t know how you are juggling so many projects at once. I guess variety is the spice of life?

    I’m excited to hear your motivation post. I need that. Like. Every day.

    • I try not to write more than one project at once, but it’s good to have a couple of ideas on the back burner so I don’t get to that point like at the beginning of this year where I thought, “What now?!”

  3. Good luck on meeting all of your goals.

  4. fairbetty permalink

    Huzzah! Keep it up! Goals are good 🙂

  5. Sounds as if you’ve got some awesome writing goals for the summer! Have fun!

  6. Sounds like you’re going to be plenty busy for the summer. Wow! I might have to do this goal setting thing as well.

  7. You have a lot going on! Good luck with all the writes, rewrites and edits!

  8. Goals scare me, they set one up for failure. If you don’t strive for anything you can’t fall short. ;o) J/K

    I don’t know, I kinda think Batpooh State has a nice ring to it.

  9. Good luck with your goals!!! 🙂

  10. Sounds like a bunch of fun projects. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

