Skip to content

Tag It & Bag It

June 2, 2011

I don’t usually give a crap about “awards” or “being tagged” but I’m bored today, so let’s do this thing.

OK, so regular contributor Michael Offutt “tagged” me on his blog, which means by arcane blogger rituals I’m supposed to answer some questions and “tag” other people.  I’ll try not to be a complete ass in answering the questions.  Emphasis on TRY.  Or as Bart Simpson said, “I can’t promise to try, but I’ll try to try.”

#

1.) Do you think you’re hawt?

I don’t even know what that means.  I think it means hot.  Um, no, definitely not.  Why else would I use a bulldog for an avatar?

2.) Upload a picture or a wallpaper that you are using at the moment. 

I should post Fat Becky from the Sims 3 again, but I’ll go one better and post my wallpaper on my work PC.

That would be the Grand Canyon.  I took that about 3 years ago when I went to Arizona.  That was thankfully before I found out that state is essentially a lunatic asylum.  For the record I found the Canyon kind of disappointing.  It’s so big that when I stood (and sat) on the edge of it I felt like I was on one of those green screen movie sets looking at a picture of the horizon.  Also, the dining options there suck.  I’m just saying.

3.) When was the last time you ate chicken?

Yesterday.  And tonight when I get home!  I eat chicken 4-5 times a week.  Just throw some Shake n Bake on a couple of skinless breasts and pop it in the oven.  Yup, I’m that boring.  Also, I’m lazy and I hate going to grocery stores so I don’t like anything complicated that requires fresh ingredients.

4.) What are the songs you’ve listened to recently?

Let’s ask Pandora!  Right now is “All I Want is You (Live)” by Tristan Prettyman (who?), before that was “This Charming Man” by Death Cab for Cutie (I bought their latest album last night and it was OK.  Better than the previous one but not as good as “Plans” or “Transatlanticism.”), and before that was “Up Against the Wall” by Peter Bjorn & John, and before that was “Under the Bridge” by Red Hot Chili Peppers, and before that “You’re a God” by Vertical Horizon.  I think five is enough.

5.) What were you thinking as you were writing this?

That I’m really bored and don’t want to work on reconciling stupid COBRA payments.  The worst thing the Obama administration has done was approve this “ARRA” program of reimbursing 65% of people’s COBRA payments.  Major pain in the ass for me.  But thanks to the Tea Party that didn’t get renewed so now it’s winding down.  Hooray!

6.) Do you have nicknames?

Are we counting screen names?  If not the answer is still yes.

7.) Top eight blogger friends who shall be tagged by this:

Here’s where things unraveled for me because I thought, “Do I even know 8 other bloggers to tag?”  Maybe.  I do follow more than eight blogs, so I guess I could find some people to tag.  Let’s give it a shot.  (I’m assuming I can’t tag Michael back, right?)

  1. Briane Pagel
  2. Lisa Potts
  3. Bess Weatherby
  4. Rusty Webb
  5. Laura Diamond
  6. Stephen Labree
  7. AF Stewart
  8. PK Hrezo

Huzzah, I made it!  Geez, what a pain to track down all these links though.  I know the names of these blogs but I don’t even look at the addresses.

8.) Who’s listed as number one:

That would be Briane Pagel, blogger and commenter extraordinaire.  Who also waked me up to how “Star Wars” has infiltrated the very psyche of America.  And his book Eclipse is good too.  Do I need any more reasons?  No.

9.) Say something about number five:

Um, let’s see…she’s a psychiatrist and at least right now she has red hair.  So there you go.

10.) How did you get to know number 3?

I’m going to steal most of Michael’s answer:  Through Rachael Harrie’s second crusade.  I enjoy her blog just because as someone from a small town who’s lived in Michigan his whole life I enjoy reading about life in the Big Apple.  And she’s also alerted me to the dangers of hipsters.  Now when hipsters start dressing in Star Wars gear we’re really screwed.

11.) How about number four?

Same answer, except not about New York or hipsters.  If you haven’t, you should go check out the picture he drew of my character Dr. Emma Earl on his Wacom tablet.  I deeply envy people who can draw; my drawings end up like something a four-year-old would do with fingerpaint.

12.) Leave a message for number six:

Welcome back to the world of blogging, Stephen!  Really he just started blogging again and as of today I am his only follower.  Maybe if you’re reading this you can help spread the word.  And also check out his book, A Heart Lies Within Us.

13.) Do number seven and number eight have similarities?

Um, they’re both writers?  Really I don’t know them that well to say.  But since I’m plugging books today, if you want a vampire book that isn’t all sparkly, gooey Twilight bullshit, read AF’s Chronicles of the Undead.

14.) Why does number five’s blog interest you?

I’m going to change this question because it seems we’ve talked about everyone except #2.  So I’m going to talk about #2 now.  Lisa’s blog interested me because she followed my blog from pretty much the beginning and we knew each other from Writers.net.  Also you can learn interesting stuff about the Kentucky Derby even if you’re like me and don’t give a crap about horse racing.

There you go, I did a tagging thingy.  And Monday I’m doing a blogfest.  I’m slowly being assimilated into this blogging thing!  Resistance is futile…

Friday is still an entry about guerilla marketing (and the hotness of Demi Moore).  If you’re on the Gather social networking site you can already read it because I’m desperate for points to get $10.  I used to get Borders gift cards but now you can get cash and Borders might not be around in 6-8 weeks when I’d get the card.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. LOL! Dude, seriously? 😉

    I think I laughed like 12 times reading this. Thanks for the tag.

  2. Good job. See…all those nice blogging exercises came in useful as you filled this out. Now wasn’t that extraordinarily fun?

  3. Thanks for the tag. I’ve posted my rebuttal, or whatever, and also I got distracted and accidentally hung up on a potential client. So a good day’s work for me.

  4. Lisa Potts permalink

    You did good, RM. And a blogfest coming up? Aren’t you the social pup.

    Thanks for letting me know Steve is blogging again. I’ll drop by and say hello.

  5. Very amusing.

    Loved that you referred to my book as “a vampire book that isn’t all sparkly, gooey Twilight bullshit”. That’s the best description of it I’ve seen.

  6. pk hrezo permalink

    You didn’t like the Grand Canyon??? You’re the first person to ever say that. LOL! Grumpy Bull dog! 😉

    Anywyay, only teasing and sorry I didn’t see this post sooner, or I’d have linked you to my post. I’ll let you in on a little secret …. sometimes I miss them when my superwoman powers are on the fritz. shhh….

    But thanks for the mention! And interesting to learn more about you. Have a fabulous vacation!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

