Skip to content

Friday Flix: Super Dooper Pooper Scooper

May 13, 2011

Last Friday (which I typed 20 minutes and two weeks ago) I lamented there really weren’t any movies coming out this summer that I wanted to see.  And that’s true.  It’s been true since I read through the Metacritic preview and thought, “Gee, this is it?”

This might sound really strange from someone who’s been trying to foist another superhero franchise on the unsuspecting reading public, but I’m tired of superhero movies.  Back in the ’00s it used to be exciting when a new one would come out, but now it’s getting to be overkill.  When “Spider-Man” came out in 2002 there hadn’t been that many in recent years, just “X-Men” in 2000 and the crappy Batman ones in the ’90s.  Then Spidey succeeded and Hollywood and Marvel saw a way to make an easy buck.  So now every summer we get a steady stream of these comic book movies.  Which if they’re successful like Spidey and Iron Man spawn sequels and if they’re not like the Hulk and Superman they get “reboots” or when they’re successful but the actors get too old they do another lame reboot to make more money–Spidey again.

So this year we’ve got at least four–Thor, Green Lantern, X-Men First Class, and Captain America plus already The Green Hornet in January–and I’m just not that excited anymore.  Part of that is I never really read any comic books as a kid so I don’t really care that much about the characters.  Part of it is as I said there have been so many of these movies in the past 10 years.

The other part is that “The Dark Knight” and “Watchmen” already knocked it out of the park.  Some people would disagree with the latter, but the hell with it.  Anyway, at least in my opinion we’ve already reached the pinnacle of superhero movie storytelling and none of these ones coming up seem poised to reach those heights.  Mostly they seem poised to be more like when I saw “Iron Man 2” last year–OK, but not great.  Maybe I’ll be wrong.  Probably not–at least in my opinion.  Will I go spend money to see any of these?  I don’t know.  Maybe.  I’ll read the reviews and see if they sound terrible or been there, done that.

On a final note, let’s see if we can put together a list of all the superhero movies of the last 11 years!  I’m sure to miss a few, so let me know which ones.  But not obscure foreign ones like “Zebraman.”  And not from the ’90s or ’80s or earlier.  Here we go:

  1. X-Men
  2. X-Men 2
  3. X-Men 3
  4. X-Men Wolverine
  5. Spider-Man
  6. Spider-Man 2
  7. Spider-Man 3
  8. Daredevil
  9. Elektra
  10. Batman Begins
  11. The Dark Knight
  12. Superman Returns
  13. Watchmen
  14. Ghost Rider
  15. Fantastic Four
  16. Fantastic Four 2
  17. Hellboy
  18. Hellboy 2
  19. Iron Man
  20. Iron Man 2
  21. Hulk
  22. The Incredible Hulk
  23. Jonah Hex
  24. Thor
  25. Kick-Ass
  26. Hancock
  27. Blade (he’s in the “Marvel Ultimate Alliance” video game so I’m counting it)
  28. Blade 2
  29. Blade 3
  30. The Punisher
  31. Punisher War Zone
  32. The Incredibles
  33. MegaMind
  34. The Green Hornet
  35. Green Lantern*
  36. Captain America*
  37. X-Men First Class*

Bonus obscure ones:  “Defendor” and “Super”

So yeah, we’ve got at least 37 in 11 years, which is 3 1/3 a year for you math majors out there.  Are you starting to see my point?

And as if that’s not enough you have in the pipeline:

  1. The Dark Knight Rises
  2. The Avengers
  3. Iron Man 3
  4. Spider-Man reboot
  5. The Man of Steel

And probably more that I don’t know about because I don’t spend hours on IMDB like my sister.  So do you get my point?  The trend is getting a little out of hand.

Monday is an entry on a subject I know nothing about:  patience!  (I can’t wait that long; let’s run it now!!!)

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Wow. This is what a working blog looks like eh? Not bad. I wish all movies were superhero flicks, then we could just pick the good ones and forget about the rest.

    I really think it was about fx though. At least it always was for me. Even as a kid I was leery of comics becoming movies because those little panels looked way cooler than the stuff that made it to film. I never believed a 6’5″ bodybuilder was what artists envisioned when they drew the Hulk, or that a kryptonite induced rampage from Superman would straighten the leaning tower of Pisa… Wait, I may have gotten off topic.

    Anyhow, fx were a limiting factor until a decade or so ago. So I’m reliving childhood wonder every time I see something amazing happen on screen.

    That said, I’ve probably seen Mystery Men more than any other Superhero movie ever. Go figure.

  2. Gee, there’s a LOT of movies listed here! I haven’t seen Watchmen, though it’s on my Netflix queue. I really liked Dark Knight and Iron Man 1. The others…meh. 😉

  3. Personally, I love superhero movies. That being said though, I would like to see more representation from DC instead of Marvel. Sure we get Superman after Superman after Superman in both movies and television. But what about Wonder Woman? What about Dr. Fate or the Flash? These are Super Heroes that I’d like to see have movies made from them. At least this year we get Green Lantern.

    Now, I am looking forward to this summer’s movies. Captain America looks amazing and the actor playing him is so smokin’ hot I will probably see it five times in one weekend just to look at how nice he is shirtless. Also we have Priest which comes out today and Thor was pretty good last week although I cannot for the life of me figure out anything regarding the death star super laser climax of the film.

    • Hooray, a Star Wars reference!

      So should I add “Priest” to my list?

      Anyway, I’ve wondered why DC is so far behind Marvel in this department. It’s been 11 years and the only of their big heroes they’ve had movies for are Batman and Superman. Now I hear the Wonder Woman series isn’t getting picked up. Must be pretty bad if a crummy network like NBC currently is isn’t buying it. It seems like such a no-brainer to me to just back up a truck in Megan Fox’s driveway, stuff her into a skintight costume, and put it in 3D IMAX. She probably wouldn’t have to do anything but stand there for the horny teenagers.

  4. I loved the X-men movies, and the new Batman of course, but most of the rest of them I have never and will never see. It’s completely overdone.

    That being said: good luck with your own Superhero franchise 🙂

  5. I seem to recall you recommending Watchmen when it first came out and I still haven’t seen it. But I’ve now added it to my Netflix queue so I’ll have to come back and tell you what I think.

    I haven’t seen half of the movies on your rather extended list and the only reason I really go to see the Marvel ones nowadays is because the kids want to see it or for the hot guy in tights.

Leave a Reply

