Skip to content

Spring Status Update #1

May 7, 2011

I finished my first story of the year.  Took long enough.  Would have finished it sooner but I stopped with the first attempt in February and didn’t start on the second attempt until March.  Then I worked pretty much on weekends.

It turned out to be 87,000 words, which is the shortest thing I’ve written in a while.  There are a laundry list of problems that need corrected at least in my mind.  The last chapter and Epilogue were pretty talky, which some people might find disappointing.  Also it might be disappointing that Sylvia doesn’t really defeat her; she needs Ethan to bail her out.  Yeah, the MAN has to save her!  Pretty misogynistic.  Actually I think that’s OK because it wouldn’t be believable that Cecelia finds out Sylvia’s her mother and goes all soft on her.  Not after all she’s been through.  That needs to be more of a growing process.

Anyway, at some point I’ll get to that, but I’ll probably let it sit for a little while and work on some other projects.  If we get some more nice weekends like today then I’ll probably step up the production.

That is all.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Congrats on your milestone.

Leave a Reply

