Skip to content

Wii Bit of Fun

March 14, 2011

People talk all the time about creating characters.  Some people go to great lengths to get to know their characters, including RPG programs and bogus exercises about the character’s backstory.

When I recently bought a Wii and needed some characters called Miis to use in my games, it seemed natural to use my stories as fodder.  And really you may write about characters and do all these exercises and such, but it’s still difficult to visualize them in the confines of the Mii program.

Anyway, here are characters I created from the Tales of the Scarlet Knight series.  There’s probably a better way to transfer Mii characters from the Wii to images, but I just used my digital camera.

From left to right we have witches Sylvia Joubert and her older sister Agnes, Agnes’s daughter Renee, and Agnes’s wife/Renee’s mother Akako.  (These aren’t really to scale.)

Akako is supposed to be Japanese.  Does she look Asian?  Renee then is half-white/half-Asian, which was kind of hard to show on here.  Sylvia and Agnes actually turned out really well, all things considered.

From left to right we have our resident superhero Emma, Emma’s daughter Louise, and Emma’s boyfriend/Louise’s father Jim.

Jim should look more disheveled and rat-like because he’s known as the Sewer Rat because he lives in the sewers.  Louise actually looks more like a miniature Sylvia, but she is pretty cute.  The Wii program doesn’t really have the right shade of red for Emma’s hair, which should be a coppery red.  This was the best I could do.  And except for the first half of the first story she doesn’t wear glasses, but whatever.

So there we go.  A little pointless fun.

Tuesday we get back to more serious stuff…

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Haha … that’s a great idea! I will have to do that later!

    And I think everyone has their own way of creating characters. What works for me may not work for you and vice versa. Doesn’t mean it’s bogus, it just means there is no one right way to write a story. 🙂

  2. I don’t think any of these look Japanese.

  3. Darn it! Now I want to go home and try to build my characters on Wii. *pouts*

    Though, I’m slightly weirded out by the fact that the children still have adult sized heads.

  4. Ha! This is fun!

  5. OMG, this is brilliant! My kids make all sorts of funky miis. They’ll have to teach me how to do this, although my characters will look weird playing wii baseball.

Leave a Reply

