Skip to content

First Annual Your Blog Doesn’t Suck Awards

March 11, 2011

Since doing this Crusader thing, I’ve noticed these phony “awards” that go around.  I’ve even “won” a couple, which means about as much as a People’s Choice Award.  Really these are glorified chain letters, but it got me to thinking:  why don’t I start my own bogus award?  Then I can see how far my chain letter spreads.

So it seems to create one of these “awards” all you need is a graphic, an arbitrary number of useless facts for the recipient to give, and links to other blogs who will spread the chain, er, award.  Sounds pretty damned easy to me.  Here we go!

#

Presenting the First Annual Your Blog Doesn’t Suck Award–for blogs that don’t suck.

There’s the lovely graphic for your site.  A crystal pacifier!  Suck on that!

Three Pointless Questions:

  1. Favorite Condiment: Ketchup.
  2. Favorite ’80s Song: “Faithfully” by Journey.
  3. Which Simpsons Character Do You Most Identify With: Moe the bartender

Five Other Blogs That Don’t Suck:

  1. The Best of Everything by Briane Pagel (I could also have gone with Nonsportsmanlike Conduct or Thinking the Lions, but whatever)
  2. Lisa M. Potts by same
  3. SLC Kismet by Michael Offutt
  4. A Writerly Pensheep by jys
  5. The Blutonian Death Egg by Rusty Webb

If you “won” then copy the graphic to your site to paste into an entry answering the three questions and “awarding” five other blogs.  If the blog won’t copy, let me know and I’ll see what I can do.  And if you didn’t win yet, just wait.  I’m sure someone will give it to you eventually.

My “award-winning” blog returns on Sunday!

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. *Snort* Love the graphic 🙂 Congratulations to you on this momentous occasion.

  2. LOL. Nice, I wanna see if this becomes the next Stylish Blogger award. 😉

  3. I feel so honored. I shall spread this award to the far reaches of the blogosphere (or at least to five other victims).

  4. I humbly accept your wonderful new award and promise to pay it forward.

    It’s so pink and pretty too!

  5. Woo hoo! I’m lazy and a poor winner, but I’ll do my best to display with honor, and share with the rest of world. Thanks.

  6. HAHA I was actually thinking of the same thing. Really, I think it’s more of a badge than an award – it forces people to network (and get more links to their blogs), or so I found in my personal case, anyways.

    But anyways, thanks for thinking of me! I shall be sure to work like a good minion to spread the cheer 😉

  7. I think it’s gonna go like hotcakes. I like the pacifier, it’s great! Have a great weekend.

  8. HEAR HEAR! I’m glad someone said it! I’ve spent hours with the links, writing, choosing, yech! Now I just say thanks, and let anyone help themselves to it. I don’t even display them anymore.

  9. LOL, I love it! As flattering as it is to get these awards, I often cringe with having to post and spread them. I gave in last week, but I usually let them pass quietly by. It takes up so much time, and everyone has received the awards, so what’s the point?

    I did pass them on sort of out of guilt and the thought that I need to “play nice” to stay or get into the good circle of blogging society. Yeah, just listen to me “baa baa”

Leave a Reply

