Skip to content

My Best (And Worst) Books of 2010…So Far

December 9, 2010

I’m up to my eyeballs reading my own stuff to edit right now, so I haven’t had time for real blog entries, just the occasional shameless plug.  Anyway, here are the best books I’ve read in 2010.  And by that I mean books I read in 2010, not published in 2010, though a great many of them were also from this year thanks to the Amazon Vine program.  So if you’re looking for a book to buy someone (and you’ve already bought them all of mine, which are without a doubt the best books ever in existence–take that, Holy Bible!) or you’re just looking for something to read, here are my 10 best and then followed by my three worst.

The Best of the Best (In No Particular Order)

  1. How to Be an American Housewife    Margaret Dilloway
  2. The Green Mile: The Complete Serial Novel    Stephen King
  3. Possession    A.S. Byatt
  4. Snapped    Pamela Klaffke
  5. In the Company of Angels: A Novel    Thomas E. Kennedy
  6. Sunset Park    Paul Auster
  7. Post Office    Charles Bukowski
  8. Father of the Rain    Lily King
  9. Model Home: A Novel    Eric Puchner
  10. Littlejohn    Howard Owen

The Turkeys of 2010

  1. Last Night in Twisted River    John Irving
  2. Imperial Bedrooms    Bret Easton Ellis
  3. Stiltsville  Susanna Daniel

I can probably come up with a defense for any of these upon request.  And no, Freedom by Jonathan Franzen isn’t on either list because I haven’t read it yet!

That is all.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Lisa Potts permalink

    I love lists. I can’t help it. I’m shocked to see the John Irving book as one of your worst, but I’ve been wanting to read How To Be An American Housewife and Stephen King is always a winner with me. I’m getting ready to read his new short story collection.

Leave a Reply

