Skip to content

Status Update #7: Stuck in Neutral

October 15, 2010

It was September 16th when I last updated my status after finishing the “Meet Cute” story.  It’s a month later and I’ve written only 35,000 words on the next item on the list:  Chet Finley vs. The Machines of Fate.  That’s a pretty terrible month for me writing-wise.  That’s like a baseball hitter batting .081 in a month, which would actually be pretty good for a Tigers catcher these days.

The problem was first I gave myself some downtime, which I needed.  Then when I finally did start on a weekend, the story just wasn’t there.  So I took another week reformulating it.  Then it finally did get going, but not very fast.

Where things have really slowed down lately is that I haven’t been doing any writing during the week.  Instead I’ve been fooling around with the proof of The Carnival Papers, but mostly playing the old Nintendo game Conflict on my computer for nostalgic reasons.

To get into amateur psychoanalysis mode, I think I might have burned myself out on getting the other items of my list done and now I’m just tired and lazy.  Or maybe I got those done so quickly that I just assumed the rest would be easy and now I can’t manufacture the same kind of urgency as before.  Probably a little from Column A and a little from Column B.

One thing I did to help myself was I went in and dropped 6 chapters from the story outline.  That wasn’t just so I could get it done quicker.  The first 7 chapters went 30,000 words and if it was going to be about 25 chapters, you can do the math.  I didn’t want this to be more than 75,000-80,000 words because comedy SF/Fantasy stories are usually better if they’re shorter.  Otherwise the joke wears out its welcome like a bad “Saturday Night Live” sketch.

Anyway, I’ll just have to get myself motivated, which won’t happen this weekend since I have to go out of town, and try to put things back in order.  Mostly I just need to stop playing Conflict, despite how much nostalgic fun it is.

That is all.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Just did 1500 more words, so that’s something.

  2. Lisa Potts permalink

    Your production is always staggering to me, even if you don’t think so. I would be THRILLED with 1000 words per day.

Leave a Reply

